CWI hails Windies trio after ICC honour

Cricket West Indies (CWI) president, Ricky Skerritt, has heaped reward on the West Indies trio of Kraigg Brathwaite, Shai Hope and Alzarri Joseph, who have been this week named by the Worldwide Cricket Council of their Groups-of-the-12 months.

Take a look at captain Kraigg Brathwaite was introduced within the Take a look at Crew-of-the-12 months whereas prolific stroke-maker Shai Hope and quick bowler Alzarri Joseph have been picked within the One-Day Worldwide facet.

“Captain Kraigg Brathwaite continued to steer from the entrance with various world-class batting shows, which characterize his composed and brave type of play,” Skerritt mentioned. “The key achievement was main the crew to victory over England to seize the Richards Botham trophy which introduced glory to West Indies followers.

– Commercial –

“Shai Hope additionally demonstrated his immense expertise in entrance the stumps and agility behind the wickets. He too showcased an exceptionally excessive degree of talent, and an amazing sense of event, with a outstanding century to mark his a centesimal look towards India in Trinidad.”

He continued: “Alzarri Joseph emerged because the chief of the bowling assault in ODIs and was constant and protracted all yr in all three codecs. He has matured from an thrilling younger speedster to a really world-class tempo bowler and is reaping the rewards for the onerous work he has been placing in off the sphere.

“We applaud all three for his or her excellent performances in 2022 and likewise want them continued success and progress in 2023 and past.”

The 30-year-old Brathwaite averaged 62 in seven Checks over the past calendar yr whereas scoring two a whole lot – towards high tier sides England and Australia.

Hope, in the meantime, was amongst solely seven batsmen to move 700 runs in ODIs whereas Joseph emerged because the chief because the West Indies assault, choosing up 27 at a mean of 25 from 17 matches.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *