South Africa ‘A’ claims collection victory regardless of Da Silva’s heroics


In a gripping collection finale, Captain Joshua Da Silva’s exceptional century couldn’t salvage victory for West Indies “A,” as they suffered a 76-run loss to South Africa “A,” leading to a 2-1 collection win for the hosts.

The West Indies “A” workforce started the fourth and closing day on the Manguang Oval in Bloemfontein, requiring 374 runs for victory, with Kirk McKenzie (26) and Tagenarine Chanderpaul (11) on the crease. The pair displayed spectacular resilience, including 79 runs for the second wicket.

McKenzie, specifically, showcased aggression and talent, contributing a valiant 81 off 94 balls, that includes 13 fours and two sixes, earlier than falling to Duanne Olivier within the fortieth over. Chanderpaul’s affected person 31 off 128 balls adopted swimsuit shortly after.

Laparkan Caribbean News Weekly generic ad revised 728 x 90 test

Debutant Jordan Johnson’s departure for 9 introduced Joshua Da Silva and Kavem Hodge collectively. The duo orchestrated an 84-run partnership for the fifth wicket, placing stress on the South African facet. Hodge performed a pivotal function with a well-compiled 47 earlier than departing within the 68th over with the rating at 233.

Simply 10 batsmen

Regardless of dealing with adversity, West Indies “A” continued to battle, with Kevin Sinclair (23), Akeem Jordan (13), and Shamar Joseph (0) falling in fast succession. Compounded by an harm to Jayden Seales, they discovered themselves with simply 10 batsmen.

– Commercial –

Nonetheless, Da Silva’s exceptional innings stole the highlight as he reached his fourth first-class century within the ninetieth over, finally scoring 110 off 138 balls, comprising eight fours and two sixes. In the long run, he was the final batsman dismissed.

Dane Paterson led the South African bowling assault with figures of 4-66 from 20.1 overs, whereas Ruan de Swardt contributed with 2-45 from 15 overs.

Remaining Scores: South Africa “A”: 274 (Khaya Zondo 70, Neil Model 62, Zubayr Hamza 30, Kevin Sinclair 5-44, Shamar Joseph 3-65, Shermon Lewis 2-68) & 272-5 dec. (Zubayr Hamza 110*, Ruan de Swardt 86, Khaya Zondo 31, Raynard Van Tonder 30, Shamar Joseph 5-76) West Indies “A”: 126 (Kevin Sinclair 50, Jordan Johnson 33, Dane Paterson 4-34, Hardus Viljoen 2-43) & 344-9 (Joshua Da Silva 110, Kirk McKenzie 81, Kavem Hodge 47, Dane Paterson 4-66, Ruan de Swardt 2-45)